Are Potatoes Gluten-Free?

are potatoes gluten free banner

That is correct; potatoes are gluten-free in their natural state. Gluten is a protein mixture found in wheat, barley, and rye. Potatoes are generally safe to eat if you are following this particular diet. It’s important to note that not every place that sells potato products is gluten-free. Cross-contamination can be present in restaurants that serve fried food. 
Although potatoes are gluten-free, some places still contain gluten in their seasonings and sauces. Please inform your host or waitress to get more information if this is a concern. My favorite dishes that are 100% gluten-free that incorporate potatoes are baked potatoes, mashed potatoes, and potato soups.  

Can You Eat Potatoes on a Gluten-Free Diet?

You can eat potatoes on a gluten-free diet, especially if you’re making it home. This versatile vegetable can be eaten in various ways that support your health needs. You can find plenty of ways to enjoy potatoes by searching our recipes page. As mentioned earlier, if you have a tough time tolerating gluten, I strongly advise you to call restaurants you plan on visiting and ask about the risk of cross-contamination. Take a look at our article dedicated to our trusted gluten-free restaurants in Chicago.

potato bag full of potatoes on top of a table

Are French fries Gluten-Free?

Fortunately, French fries are typically gluten-free when it comes to restaurants. This is because the ingredients associated with making this side dish, like oil and salt, are also gluten-free. However, there’s a high chance that the fries will be cooked in a fryer used for other gluten-containing foods. Again, if this is not a major concern, then you should be good to go! Some restaurants use a different batter to coat their fries, which can also utilize gluten. In either case, it’s worth contacting the manager to find more information about their ingredients and techniques. 

When Are Potatoes Not Gluten-Free?

Potatoes are not gluten-free when it’s involved in cross-contamination. This can occur when gluten-containing ingredients mix with the vegetable on surfaces, during preparation, or through cooking. Another thing that restaurants may do that’ll make potatoes not gluten-free is its seasonings, coatings, and toppings. Determining what ingredients people use took a lot of work to figure out in Chicago; luckily, we did all the hard work for you, and you can now see our approved list of restaurants here.

What You Can Do With Potatoes

potato gnocchi on a bed of flour

Potatoes can make countless appetizers, main dishes, and sides. It’s one of the only vegetables used in almost every culinary setting, ranging from culture to culture. My favorite food to make with potatoes is mashed potatoes with garlic, gluten-free hash browns, and potato pancakes. Below is an additional list of potato-involving foods:

  • Potato wedges
  • Potato dumplings
  • Potato gnocchi
  • Potato curry
  • Potato frittata
  • Potato gratin
  • Potato salad
  • Potato risotto
  • Potato chips
  • Potato and veggie stir-fry
  • Potato and cheese pierogi
  • Potato and chorizo tacos
cooked food on black ceramic plates

Get the latest recipes, reviews, & more!

Join our TOP FOOD priority list to keep up with the latest news, recipes, reviews & more! Get Inspired & be inspiring.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: